Make us your home page


Education news and notes from Tampa Bay and Florida

USF leads nation in producing prestigious Fulbright Scholars

USF's Fulbright Scholars for the 2016-2017 year put it ahead of other top research institutions.

Times files

USF's Fulbright Scholars for the 2016-2017 year put it ahead of other top research institutions.



With 12 faculty members named as Fulbright Scholars in the 2016-2017 year, the University of South Florida led the nation in producing winners of the prestigious awards.

USF’s number is double last year’s, putting it in the top spot among research institutions nationwide, according to data released this week by the U.S. Department of State and Institute of International Education, and highlighted in the Chronicle of Higher Education.

Behind USF are Ohio State and Penn State with 10 scholars, the University of Michigan with nine and the University of Southern California with eight. See the full list here.

Faculty who get the competitive award travel and conduct research abroad, then incorporate their experiences into their curriculum and domestic research. To USF, that just brings the phrase ‘global citizens’ to life.

“Providing unfettered access to the highest quality global education to all academically qualified students has remained a top priority for the University of South Florida,” Provost and Executive Vice President Ralph Wilcox said in a news release. “With 40 percent of our undergraduates being Pell recipients and 30 percent the first in their family to graduate from college, access to world-class faculty enriches the academic experience in ways that cannot be measured.”

USF’s Fulbright scholars and their specializations are:

  • James Stock, Muma College of Business marketing professor, awarded the prestigious Fulbright-Hanken Distinguished Chair in Finland

  • Babu Joseph, renewable energy,  India

  • Christina Richards, integrative biology, France

  • Stephen Aikins, public administration, Ghana

  • Norma Alcantar, chemical engineering, Germany

  • Laura Anderson, organic chemistry, Colombia

  • Terry-Rene Brown, environmental biology, European Union

  • Nathan Fisk, social sciences, England

  • Jerry Koehler, management, Belarus

  • Dianne Morrison-Beedy, nursing education, Scotland

  • Yashwant Pathak, medicine and pharmacy, Indonesia

  • Elizabeth Strom, urban development and planning, Austria

  • And from USF St. Petersburg: Judithanne McLauchlan, observation of U.S. government, Macedonia

[Last modified: Thursday, February 23, 2017 12:57pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours